Come and visit the “House on Wheels” known as the “Cottage”. It was designed and built in 1931 on a 1929 dodge 6 truck by “Pop” G C Kaesler of Nuriootpa. It was to accomodate himself, his wife and three children to travel from South Australia to Brisbane. The trip took two months and they travelled 6500 km. The “House on Wheels” was fully restored to original condition by the Kaesler Family Trust members and owners in 1996.
Take a look back to 1845 at how the original Barossa settlers lived with a tour of the delightful Luhr’s Cottage, in the nearby village of Light Pass, with its schoolroom and underground cellar.
Barossa.com has a fact sheet for other fascinating heritage activities.